stupid question (maybe)

wingman23
wingman23
07/22/2011 2:27 am
This might be a stupid question to all you great guitar players on here, but seems like a good place to ask.
Is it possible for anybody to learn to play like this, or is it something you are born with.(natural talent) As a beginner i can never ever imagine playing like this and i dont think this guy is famous or anything.. How the heck do you get your fingers to move that fast without them falling off and he's only playing careless whisper for goodness sake LOL.. ;-)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=s8Hatm9xP00&NR=1
# 1
hunter1801
hunter1801
07/22/2011 4:53 am
To some extent, there is the factor of "natural talent". You look at some of the top players and virtuosos and it's safe to say not everyone can do that, even if they practiced just as hard. You are born with certain skills.

On the other hand however, if you practice hard enough I'd say you can definitely get to places that you never thought were possible. Speed comes with time. Just remember that speed does NOT equal skill. A lot of times you'll see people doing really cool stuff and thing they are amazing, but they might just be running a simple scale really fast. Don't think that in order to be considered good you have to be lightning fast. You'll get there eventually if you stick with it.

That guy has some cool videos by the way. I'm jealous of his abilities myself haha.
# 2
JJ90
JJ90
07/22/2011 1:22 pm
Although I agree with hunter I put my doubts with the answer of 'being born with some skills.' Although this is somewhat true ofcourse you mostly develop your skills when being a child.

For example if you were a kid and throw a lot of stuff you might be better at basketball at a later age because you developed throwing more accurately as a kid. Then people will say he/she is a natural talent but is he/she really? I studied a minor child development so that's where I'm coming from.