Beginner feedback request

mpaq
mpaq
01/02/2008 5:40 pm
Hello,
This is my first attempt at several things and could use some feedback/critique. Up until two months ago, I'd never played anything other than a few open chords on an acoustic, and I've also never recorded anything before. I'm using Audacity to get started, and only have a basic account at Soundclick.com so i dont think its possible to hear the full hifi version...but the lowfi and mp3 download seem to work. Audacity doesnt export very well from its native format to mp3 so that doesnt help the sound quality either.
OK, disclaimers aside :) .....you will recognize this backing track as the October solo track.....I'm receptive to all comments, good bad or downright ugly!
thanks for taking the time to listen.

http://soundclick.com/share?songid=6127751
# 1
light487
Forum Administrator
light487
Forum Administrator
01/02/2008 9:29 pm
Hrmm.. well.. on a positive note you played all the notes in the correct scale so that is a great start. And I can definitely hear some potential there, it's all just a little too rough at this point but then you already knew that. I think the main problem are the effects you are using, it makes the tone of the guitar sound like a dying cat..

My only real suggestion is that you keep working on that same track a little while longer. Develop a theme for the solo to centre around and don't stay within the B minor pentatonic scale.. at least that's the scale it seems like you're playing in. A good solo can take a little bit of time to develop.. so keep working on it.
light487
Guitar Tricks Moderator

GuitarTricks
Daily Light Blog
# 2
mpaq
mpaq
01/02/2008 11:27 pm
yea the wah pedal was a Christmas present...i figured i was probably a bit overzealous with it :)
thanks for your comments, i'll keep at it
# 3
light487
Forum Administrator
light487
Forum Administrator
01/03/2008 7:50 am