getting ready too call it quits

mcchuck47
Full Access
mcchuck47
Full Access
02/25/2022 2:06 am

I have been playing guitar for 6 years, been trying too play barre chords for 3 years, the

g string is always muted on 6th string minor chords. I'm left handed, I have tried moving my hand and finger every position possible. I'm really ready too through in the towel and say watching tv is a better option.

# 1
martin.bayly
Full Access
martin.bayly
Full Access
02/25/2022 3:11 am

Hmm, that's tough.[br][br]Been there many times. Quit (well, faded away from playing without consciously quitting) many times, but I always seem to pick it back up again months (years) later, and I really kick myself for all the lost years, but I try and focus on the now. Wouldn't want someone else to experience that.[br][br]Barre chords are a PITA. For the Minor 6th string chord is it your barre finger that isn't making a clean contact or are you having trouble preventing the pinky on the D string from muting the G.[br][br]Are you on acoustic or electric? String gauges? [br][br]I do still struggle with getting a clean barre in many situations. I don't have big hands or fleshy fingers hence not much meat to get a clean sound, but I tell myself skinny fingers work better for other parts of guitar.[br][br]Some things that work for me are trying to angle my index finger to get more of the bony part on the strings rather than the flat fleshy part (I've seen Anders suggest this in some lessons), also adjusting the vertical position of the index finger upwards so that the G string is not directly aligned with the first joint where there is no flesh at all, and also trying to weight my arm so that rather than applying pressure with my thumb/fingers which just hurts, I'm using gravity to give me the extra pressure I need to get a clean barre.[br][br] Hopefully some others will jump in with better advice. Hope you don't quit!

# 2
Sour_Note
Full Access
Sour_Note
Full Access
02/25/2022 3:17 am