I would like some advice

justinbirtha
justinbirtha
05/12/2017 1:07 am

Hey guys I am brand new to the forums and I would just like to ask for a little bit of advice. I am 15 years and love the guitar. I have been playing for 2 1/2 years now through taking lessons. I constantly think about it all the time and how I can't wait to go home and play. The problem is though when I go home I just procrastinate my way from avoiding the guitar completely. I have a schedule for practice but lately it hasn't been put to use. I would like to become really good at the guitar, but it just seems like I am lacking something mentally from me achieving that goal. I would like to practice 3-4 hours a day, but I barely reach 2 hours. I get easily distracted from video games and when I get discouraged from the guitar I just decide to call it a night and hop on my video games. Is there anything I can do to break this habit and achieve the goals I would like to achieve? Do any of you have the same issues? If you a response with some advice would greatly appreciated from a fellow guitar player.

# 1
maggior
maggior
05/12/2017 1:37 pm

If you find that you can only focus on guitar for 2 hours, then allow yourself to stick to that. 2 hours of focused practice (even 1 hour) is much better than 3 or 4 unfocused.

I go through this myself actually. Part of you may be fearful that it's going to be hard, a lot of work, you won't accomplish much, etc....all sorts of negative stuff.

Do you have a plan? Goals? Without these you will progress slowly and won't feel much satisfaction, and that makes it feel like work!

Make a plan and set some long, near, and short term goals. Make them realistic! As you accomplish these things, you'll see progress and it will encourage you to continue. You'll have things to celebrate!!

Allow flexibility in your plan and goals. Don't beat yourself up if you skip a day practicing or you don't meet a goal according to your schedule.

# 2
Guitar Tricks Admin
Full Access