putting it together

mrshakes69
mrshakes69
03/23/2010 11:33 am
hey im struggling on writting my own songs , i can come up with a few decent riffs ( well i call em decent ) but i cant seem to link it all together to make a song , are there any videos or suggestions to help me with this?
# 1
JeffS65
JeffS65
03/24/2010 2:43 am
Originally Posted by: mrshakes69hey im struggling on writting my own songs , i can come up with a few decent riffs ( well i call em decent ) but i cant seem to link it all together to make a song , are there any videos or suggestions to help me with this?

Songwriting is such an elusive animal. This site has some good songwriters on staff. I read somewhere that reading about how to song write is like reading about how to be in love...

I'm still learning what my weaknesses are in songwriting but I noticed that the biggest growth in 'not hating' what I've written is when I stopped trying to make a great song. Great songs happen, you can't make them. I also noticed that if I stopped trying so hard to make things amazing, I liked what I did better.

I guess I'm finding that if I stop working on individual riffs but on sections of a song, I like what I hear.

I don't know...Just a thought. I'm a mere novice so I don't know that I have much to give other than what I've noticed that I like recently.
# 2
ChristopherSchlegel
Guitar Tricks Instructor
ChristopherSchlegel
Guitar Tricks Instructor
03/25/2010 2:39 pm
Originally Posted by: JeffS65Songwriting is such an elusive animal. ... I read somewhere that reading about how to song write is like reading about how to be in love...

I think there are two primary reasons for that.

1. Good songwriting is a skill that requires an enormous amount of integration.

To write a song one has to create a melody that work well with some words. Lyrics are the result of a good series of phonetic linguistic sounds that work well with a series of notes, that sound good together in the first place.