screw the look and name

z0s0_jp
Riffologist
z0s0_jp
Riffologist
01/03/2007 8:05 pm
i have matured i think in guitar purchases.....at GC yesterday i shopped extensively for a guitar under $800....i kinda want an sg but the gibsons in this price range sucked imo. i tried usa/fenders, schecters..ibanez...jackson..etc. i made my choice---this was the the best sound and player of the bunch and it is an sg!! why is this epi $400 dollars cheaper and a thousand times nicer in playability and tone than the gibson???

"Dammit Jim!! I'm a guitarist not a roadie...so haul my gear"
# 1
HDJ
Explanation: Southerner
HDJ
Explanation: Southerner
01/03/2007 8:12 pm
It's all personal preference man........I've played good and bad Epi's and also good and bad Gibsons. They vary from instrument to instrument....

The Epi's are getting better than they used to be..
Check out my band:
Havoc Din
# 2
z0s0_jp
Riffologist
z0s0_jp
Riffologist
01/03/2007 8:19 pm
true.... :cool:
i just want to get the point across that you MUST play the guitar first then decide!!!! Even guitars of the same make and model vary somewhat.
# 3
aschleman
aschleman
01/03/2007 8:25 pm
I almost bought one of those a few years back. I went for a new amp instead.

Those guitars are pretty nice but like FRICK said, it's the quality control that is generally the problem with Gibson and Epiphone... If it's bad for Gibson you can imagine how bad it is for Epi. It's always a good idea to play the specific guitar that you're going to buy. Unless you're getting a bargain from an online store or something and in that case you better get a warranty or money back guarantee..... So if that's the axe you're going to want to buy try to play the exact one you're going to buy... And if they say "We're going to go grab one in the back that's in a box." Then tell them that you're going to get it out and play a bit befoer you buy it....
# 4
z0s0_jp
Riffologist
z0s0_jp
Riffologist
01/03/2007 8:30 pm