New Guitar...

icecool
icecool
06/11/2003 10:42 pm
Well, I'am looking to buy a new guitar since I've been using the same squier strat for 8 years (ha!), don't misunderstand, I love it...but, y'know...

Was wanting to branch possibly into Ibanez guitars, RG series, JS series. Wondering if someone could give some advice.

But what I've been thinking about is, I am very partial to my Blues and my Jazz as well as some shredding n' tapping, so will buying an Ibanez, like an RG, be suitable for more styles than just the rip roaring normality? Will I get brandished as an out and out shredder?!
# 1
hairbndrckr
hairbndrckr
06/12/2003 1:31 am
Who cares.... If you buy a tele are you gonna be banished to playing country all your life? If you get a PRS are you gonna be a moody, brooding, Nu metalist?

A guitar is just that...a guitar... strings and wood...
If it feels good to you and comfortable to play, then by all means use it...

Frank Gamble plays jazz/fusion and uses Ibanez guitars. Wicked, wicked player he is... I myself have a mid eightiest RG550 in nuclear yellow. It was my first guitar after my frankennitro. They are great guitars. I like the JEMs a little better because of the basswood body. Much nicer to play a few hours with one of those strapped on your shoulder...
Of course I only play my Kramers now....
So. If you throw a cat out of a car window, is it considered "kitty litter"?
# 2

06/12/2003 2:54 am

Ice, take some time to look at some yamahas.

For the past years they have come up with really good guitars. I term of sustain they are far above the rest considering the price (at least mine is). I've played Ibanez and don't get the hype. Those guitars never impressed me as far as quality goes. Just like Gibson you're kinda buying the brand more than the quality.

Just don't get caught in the Trade mark game. Try some other "cheaper" guitar first. You'll be surprise.