Pianist learning guitar: any tips?

adoser93
adoser93
04/03/2022 6:00 am

I'm an advanced pianist and know my music theory, have a good ear, etc., and while I've always wanted to pick up another instrument I'm apparently too stubborn to tolerate being incompetent at music again and have started and stopped guitar too many times to count over the past decades. I think I finally have it in me this time to give it a real try. I'm wondering if people have any advice for books, videos, general strategy on how to learn for someone who's already coming in with very solid musical knowledge and really is just looking to pick up non-obvious technical skills. I have a hard time working with learning material that's geared toward people who don't know what a chord is yet.

I'm pretty sure I can learn all the basic chords on my own and really hammer home getting used to smoothly changing on these basics. From there I'd love some advice on how to advance my technical skills beyond knowing like 10 chords.

Thanks!

# 1
aliasmaximus
aliasmaximus
04/03/2022 9:16 am

Hmmm, something tells me you're going to be a tough sell. Obviously, a guitar fretboad isn't laid out like piano, all neat and tidy and in one long string with color coded imperfect notes. And although the theory is the same, it applies much differently to the fretboard. Your contempt for anything having to do with fundamentals is going to get you burned and you'll end up quitting again, because that's how you handle frustration (you said so yourself). And you will get frustrated no matter what path you choose. That's just the nature of playing guitar. Heck, you already sound frustrated and you haven't even started yet. That doesn't bode well for you here.