Guitar strap

tysonbaudistel
tysonbaudistel
12/31/2020 6:58 am

Complete newbie here, just got a Yamaha F325d from my son to learn on. So I've started the videos on tunning. But I'm struggling with my left had and trying to get the strings with out pressing down on other strings. So I was wondering if I should get a strap and learn standing up to start. I noticed this Yamaha only has the one pin. So I'm kinda of lost on what strap and how to attach it, if anyone can shed some advice on what to look for

Thanks

# 1
William MG
Full Access
William MG
Full Access
12/31/2020 8:24 am

Acoustic straps will have a tie string for the neck. Standing up or sitting down is user preference. As noted in a response to your original post, fingers will have a tendency to touch other strings until you have trained yourself on how to position them. Lisa discusses this in her course as I noted in your original post. There aren't any shortcuts to this. You've got the guitar now you have to get into the habit of practicing and working through her course.

This year the diet is definitely gonna stick!

# 2
manXcat
manXcat
12/31/2020 8:44 am

Hello

Many options, but for folk guitars without a neck heel button something like this is customary.

To strap or not when sitting is a polarising topic. I don't hold a dogmatic perspective on it and do both as I please acoustic or electric, so as [u]you[/u] please. Same with sitting or standing.

The [u]exceptions[/u] where I prefer to use a strap when sitting would be for Les Paul electric solid bodies with its imbalance idiosyncrasy and Dreadnought acoustic bodies which are an ill fit for me, and which the Yamaha F325D is.

Cheers,

manXcat

# 3
faith83
Full Access
faith83
Full Access
12/31/2020 3:10 pm

My new guitar is the same. No second button. I ordered one from Amazon and watched YouTube videos about how to install it. It's theoreticallly easy, but I haven't mustered up the nerve just yet to try it.