Memory Drain Pain!

stratmanjimbo
stratmanjimbo
01/15/2018 4:55 am

Dave: I believe Johnny Winter had a pretty cool tune back in his heyday that was titled something like this...........but I put myself to a test, I studied your nice SRV lesson very thoroughly and then purposely didn't attempt the Texas shuffle for a few weeks.......but then just did this weekend. At best, 50% came back to me!!? Perhaps I'm too harsh on myself or guitar dementia has kicked in but.......I was able to refigure some parts like that cool double stop solo run after some trial and error but.......I did go from at least being comfortable with this nice lesson a few weeks back to at least semi lost? Any professional advice into retention besides playing various parts to death and beyond?? The problem with over practicing is two fold: 1. Maintaining an interest factor without getting almost bored (no offense.......almost anything even a good thing can do this) and 2. Then not wanting to jam to these nice lessons because I've overdone it. Thanks!! Jim C.

# 1
alffvdh
Full Access
alffvdh
Full Access
01/15/2018 6:28 pm

Hah! And I thought it was only me and my advancing age!!

I have found that only certain parts of songs I have learnt and felt comfortable with are sticking with me. I have a few that I am going to have to go back and re-watch the lessons so I can play the whole song again.

I agree, I risk being bored if I hammer just the one song over and over. But I think if I re-visit the lessons after a break from the song quite a bit of it will come back quite quickly and more will be retained in my memory. That has certainly happened with one song in particular that I have "re-learned".

There is some learning theory out there that you retain about 50% of something on the first exposure, but after a second exposure you might retain up to 80% and so on.

Well, can't help you much other than to let you know you are not alone. Sadly, I think repetition is the key.

Alf

# 2
stratmanjimbo