Critique Please (Blues)

guitarwiz1
guitarwiz1
01/03/2015 12:46 am
Despite my user name... I am not a guitarwiz and this video may prove it, but guitarwiz sounds better than guitarapprentice. :cool:

I've always thought of myself as a hard rock 'N' metal type guy... I can play a few of my favorite rock / metal songs, but when it comes to improve all my stuff sounds bluesy. :confused:

That being said. I've decided to focus my attention on playing the blues. :)

I've learned more on this site in the past two months that I've been a full member than I have in the past 30 yrs. being a self taught wanna be. :o
I still need "A LOT" of practice, and maybe some day...If I can get rid of some of these kids...I can get to it. ;)

Some of my weak points might be not knowing the notes on the fretboard and lack of technique. I am trying though and I'll never give up. ;)

As for the critique...be brutally honest. I don't have any feelings so you can't hurt them. :p

I would just like to know what the random person thinks about my playing and where I need to focus my attention to improve myself. :D

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4hKfOmIAiRM
(stupid dog)
# 1
bbzswa777
bbzswa777
01/03/2015 8:15 am
Thanks for sharing.

Some of your strong points:
- you do a good job sliding into certain notes. I know this may seem simple, but to get it to sound good takes a little while
- you have a pretty decent sense of timing. When it comes to improvising over a backing track, the notes you don't play are just as important and you seem fairly patient which is a good trait
- Your bends are pretty good! But no matter how much we improve, we all still have room to grow when it comes to bending. So don't stop working on them.

Some things you could work on: