Suggestions for a long time player / newbie?

markm0926
markm0926
01/22/2014 12:39 pm
Wondering if anyone else is in my situation. (and/or looking for tips!)
I've been playing for over 30 years, but know nothing about scales, majors, minors. And all this type of stuff.
I know most of the important cord names, open and barre. Never really practiced scales.
I know I can play and learned from tabs and playing songs. I play in a cover band, have a ton of songs under my belt and do gig out pretty often. So I must have done something right to get this far.
So I am just diving in here to start to learn some theory.
What a great site!
Anyway, today I was able to get 20 out of 20 on the fretboard trainer trying to learn all the note names. I'm still pretty slow at it and have to count my way around to know what note I'm looking at.
Think this is a good place to start before going onto scales?
Any other suggestions for a long time player new to theory?

Thanks!
Mark
Main Gear: Gibson SG, Gibson Les Paul Sig T, Martin Acoustic, Mesa 5:25+, Orange OR15, Carl Martin Quattro
# 1
Henrik Linde
Guitar Tricks Instructor
Henrik Linde
Guitar Tricks Instructor
01/22/2014 2:33 pm
Markm0926,

Knowing your fretboard is a great way to start your journey into music theory and scale knowledge. Once you know a bit more of the fretboard and can connect the dots, so to speak, it'll open up a lot with scale patterns and chord voicings.
Another thing that's really good to do as a bit of an exercise is to pick a random note, let's say F#. Then you try to find every F# and it's octave on the fretboard.
Then just do that with all 12 notes. Once you get a bit deeper in this you'll have a better starting point for soloing w scales or arpeggios. Because once you know where the root of the scale is, you'll start to be able to see the rest of the patterns as well.
Hope this helps.

Let me know if you have any other questions.

Regards,
Henrik
# 2
Slipin Lizard
Slipin Lizard
01/22/2014 7:14 pm