About... picks...

fuyu
Full Access
fuyu
Full Access
05/13/2008 11:57 pm
I feel silly asking about this, but I went to the guitar store today looking at picks and.. I was too ashamed to ask the clerk there about it!! :( I'm an absolute beginner, and well.. asking about guitars are one thing.. but was too ashamed to ask about picks...

I saw thin, medium, heavy.. and then I saw all these other ones with all these different size options.. what is the difference? For a beginner like me that is using an electric guitar (ibanez grx20), what is the standard? :( Also based on the material it's made with (I saw Acetal/Polymer, Celluloid etc).. what is good?

When I bought my guitar a few days ago, I didn't think about picks because I was being cheap since I knew I had ONE at home lol.. and now I can't find it!! :( I can't remember if it there was anything written on it saying if it was thin, medium, heavy.. or even what MM and etc. :confused:
# 1
BrokenJera
BrokenJera
05/14/2008 12:52 am
the only really good picks are the ones you like to play with. depending on the guitar store (some get mad at this) grab a few different ones and play a similar guitar to the one you play. if you dont like any of them go back for some different ones.

if the store wont let you mix and match like this just go and buy one of each. picks usually arent more than 50 cents a peice or so. find the one or two you like then buy more.

as a point ill give some info on some types of picks. the thinner a pick is the more it will bend as you hit the string, so light picks are good for novice strumming but they are harder to play single note passages with because the bends too much, medium are right inbetweeen and are good picks all around. heavy picks are hard to strum with but they dont bend so play fast riffs (like metal) is a lot easier.