Recording Guitar (using Sonar 4)

Mag2000
Mag2000
12/01/2004 12:18 am
I just bought Sonar 4 and have been messing around with it for the last week. I'm new to recording in general and I haven't had a chance to explore and read about all the features of recording in Sonar, so bare with me.

One of the problems I'm having is getting my guitar sound to sound like it's more in stereo. You know that nice rich sound you hear on everyday music, especially on acoustic guitars. I've recording my guitar tracks in stereo its just missing that extra something.that makes it sound like it's coming from both sides rather then from the middle. And I'm not sure what I should be messing around with since there is so much to Sonar 4.

Should I be messing around with the panning controls? Or should I use two separate tracks, one for the left and another for the right? What about adding plug ins? I have been messing around with the Revalver plug-in from Alien connections to get a better guitar tone. Is that plug-in only a mono effect? Or perhaps I should be doing something like adding buses or more reverb. I haven't used buses so far as I am not familiar with them yet.

Any help or tips would be appreciated.

Note that I'm recording direct with a DI box for the moment but that I'm quite happy with the guitar tone I'm getting.
# 1
Dr_simon
Guitar Tricks Instructor
Dr_simon
Guitar Tricks Instructor
12/01/2004 12:28 am
Some things that might help (Pity me I'm still using Sonar 3).

I double tracking:
Duplicate your mono track and pan hard left and right
Tweak the virtual tone by re-amping the tone of your double track
Tweak the EQ of on of the pairs
Add a little delay to one of the tracks. The exact amount will be dictated by the tempo of the song however it is quite easy to work out.

II Compression:
Squeeze those dynamics for a fatter Sound ! The Time works Compressor X that comes with Sonar is great !
My instructors page and www.studiotrax.net for all things recording.