What style of guitar is best?

kansym
Full Access
kansym
Full Access
01/09/2024 2:35 am

Hello!

I am a beginner trying for probably the 5th time in my life to learn how to play. I am very motivated and am confident that this time it will stick.

However, I only have a simple classical nylon stringed guitar. Is this ideal, less than ideal or does it really matter? I know that there are some significant differences between a classical guitar and a traditional one. I just want to know if I should strongly consider getting a new traditional model to learn on or is it alright to stick with the one I've got. I'm concerned that I might be at a disadvantage or develop poor habits. 

Thank you!

# 1
Diamond_Dave
Full Access
Diamond_Dave
Full Access
01/09/2024 5:51 am

What genre(s) do you want to play?

# 2
William MG
Full Access
William MG
Full Access
01/09/2024 7:34 am

You can learn on any guitar with 6 strings any kind of music. At this point you need to drill in the basics and this can be done on any guitar.

And a nylon stringed instrument like your classical will be the easiest on your finger tips until you build your callouses.

Acoustic guitars with steel strings will require more hand strength, be harder on your finger tips until you get those callouses, but will provide a fuller sound compared to a classical. Bear in mind lots of children learn to play on a steel string acoustic and so can you.

Electric guitars will be almost as easy on your fingers as your classical, provide more flexibility in terms of sound, but require more investment as in amp and cable.

There is no right guitar. I started with 1 and for no good reason now own 20.

If you are itching for a new guitar that's a good enough reason as any, but what you have will help you to develop your skills and build in muscle memory. Guitar is about practice.

Best of luck.