3 month Beginner- Not sure what i should practice daily

matthewmerkel00
Full Access
matthewmerkel00
Full Access
11/18/2023 12:29 am

Hi all!

Ive been playing acoustic guitar now for about 3 months, self taught. I went through the guitar fundamentals 1 course but then got bored/ lost patience so i have mostly been on youtube. I can play the 5 major chords and change between them pretty well. 

For the past few weeks my daily practice has been... warm up (spider exercise, chord changes), strumming workout with a simple chord progression. ive been using yousician a bit for their single note melodies to strengthen my finger independence since ill be getting an electric guitar next month.

I feel like im getting into another funk where im doing the same thing everyday and getting bored so i am looking for something new. 

i think it is time for me to get in person lessons because they could see how i play and give me a routine to follow to get better, instead of trying to figure it out myself. 

I would really love some tips to help me keep progressing. 

Thanks, Matt

edited
# 1
chemical_fusion
Full Access
chemical_fusion
Full Access
11/18/2023 8:25 am

Bored after only 3 months ?  Should really just move forward with the lessons until you find something that's keeping you interested ?   Depends what your goals are too. 

# 2
William MG
Full Access
William MG
Full Access
11/18/2023 2:35 pm

Yeah, if you are getting bored it's because you aren't doing what interests you, which I assume is learning songs, because why else pick up a guitar.

YouTube has lots of song lessons and of course there are songs here.

Fundamentals is designed to give some insight as to how the pieces fit together, but you don't need that to learn your favorite songs. All you need for songs is an instructor showing you what chords and solos to play. This is totally legit. You play what you want to play.