Jazz scales

BreakerOFstrings
BreakerOFstrings
07/28/2003 3:53 am
hey,

I'm somewhat new to jazz and i was wondering what scales Wes Montgomery used thanks.
~Peace~
The Breaker
# 1
BreakerOFstrings
BreakerOFstrings
07/28/2003 6:37 am
anybody????????????????
~Peace~
The Breaker
# 2
TheDirt
TheDirt
07/28/2003 1:47 pm
A lot of times, he used just the plain old major scale with occasional alterations such as the b9, #9, b5, #5, and b7 (read: he used every note available). When to use these? Whenever they sound good! Use your ear when you solo. Play a jam track, like a one chord vamp and listen to how each note interacts with the chord.

Check out a book such as "The Best of Wes Montgomery" and you can study how he soloed.
"You must stab him in the heart with the Bone Saber of Zumacalis... well, you could stab him in the head or the lungs, too... and the saber, it probably doesn't have to be bone, just anything sharp lying around the house... you could poke him with a pillow and kill him."

- Aqua Teen Hunger Force, The Universal Re-Monster
# 3
BreakerOFstrings
BreakerOFstrings
07/28/2003 8:40 pm
thanks but, could u give a diagram of the scale with the extra notes or a link to one? thanks again...
~Peace~
The Breaker
# 4
TheDirt
TheDirt
07/29/2003 3:31 pm
Dude, I hate to say, but learning a certain scale is not gonna make you be able to play jazzy... I suggest listening to jazz songs and trying to emulate what they play... listen to a song a hundred times until you can play it with him (AND DON'T CHEAT BY LOOKING UP THE TABS!!). This is how all the greats learned to play, and it's so you get the sound of jazz in your ears and in your fingers...
"You must stab him in the heart with the Bone Saber of Zumacalis... well, you could stab him in the head or the lungs, too... and the saber, it probably doesn't have to be bone, just anything sharp lying around the house... you could poke him with a pillow and kill him."

- Aqua Teen Hunger Force, The Universal Re-Monster
# 5