Amp Question

spanky10940
spanky10940
03/18/2003 5:29 pm
Ok, moving on in my guitar life and it's time to spend a few bucks a buy a good amp.
So far my choices are:
The Fender Cyber Deluxe
The Line 6 Spider 212

The reason I'm choosing between the 2 is that I'm not really sure WHAT kind of music I wanna play. I tend to roam between blues and rock into metal and some alternative stuff. I figured that the versatility of these would give me a better range.
Here's where the opinion/experience part that all of you have comes into play. What does everyone think of those amps?
I can get the Spider used (in GREAT condidtion for $300)
and the Fender cyber deluxe is brand new at $700...

thoughts, other amp suggestions?

"The one truly great thing about this life is that noone can sincerely and truly help someone, without helping themselves"

Ralph Waldo Emerson
# 1
Tele Master
Full Access
Tele Master
Full Access
03/19/2003 9:20 pm
I have no experience with the Line 6, but Fenders have a sweet full sound, and are THE amp for blues. That is how I based my decision on buying my new amp. I'm going for the Fender.(Especially their tube amps)
Electric Guitars are the inspiration for cries of "Turn that damn thing down"-Gibson website
# 2
spanky10940
spanky10940
03/20/2003 3:33 pm
Ok, so how about a part 2 of the question...
I've also been reading everything that I can get my hands on about this and it's all Greek to me!

Can anyone suggest some things that i want to look for, may want or need in an amp? i'm not sure about channels, ports and whatever else goes into this.. even a good site that has "amps for dummies" or something......
"The one truly great thing about this life is that noone can sincerely and truly help someone, without helping themselves"

Ralph Waldo Emerson
# 3
zepo
zepo
03/24/2003 1:46 am