My short fingers, how to?

gaanglatihan
gaanglatihan
11/12/2022 4:45 pm

Hi, 

I have short fingers, and can't stretch far up to 4 frets per finger, sometimes my ring finger is replaced by the pinky finger to press the strings. 

If I see people playing the guitar with long fingers they only need to stretch their pinky fingers to reach the 4th fret, but me, I still have to slide my fingers to reach the strings I want.

Are there any suggestions for being able to stretch my fingers further?

Have a nice day,

Kris

I'm a beginner using electric guitar.

# 1
Off-GridOverview
Full Access
Off-GridOverview
Full Access
11/13/2022 5:37 pm

Hey Kris,

Easy.... All you need is a finger strecher!😅

All jokes aside, I had a similar issue when I first started and thought my hands were too small.

Turned out it just took allot of practice and my pinkey and other fingers just need to learn to move in different ways. I fell like it took a couple years to fully get comftorable to the point I could strect a 4 fret spacing in the open position with out even thinking oabout it.

The only advice I can offer right now is practice, or like other issues I ran into in my playing, I had to find other ways to play certain things.

The fact the you say that your ring finger replaces your pinkey.... I assume that it is due to a comftorability thing (most players (me included) have this), in that you are not as used to using your pinkey, this is a practice thing.

If one way is not working, try another.

Hope thsi helps a little and I hope I did not miss understand the ussue you are having.

Justin

edited

2013 Gibson SGJ 

2007 Epiphone Les Paul Custom 

Roland Cube 40 Amp

# 2
MarkNTexas
Full Access
MarkNTexas
Full Access
12/09/2022 1:30 am

I hope you are doing well and have moved beyond this.  However, I wanted to give a little positive spin to the "small hands" issue.