Strings

JohnGC
JohnGC
09/22/2020 1:08 pm

Hi guys, I would like a bit of advice regarding string gauges. Since I started learning I have been using .009 -.042 guage strings. Just recently even though my guitar is in tune I have noticed it sounded a bit off. Just as an experiment I left my tuner on while using the guitar and when I struck the open B string it was in tune but I noticed as soon as I went down to the next fret on C it was well out. Obviously this occuring on all strings. By releasing the tension on my fretting finger by a fair amount the note C was spot on. I am now wondering if I require thicker strings as I am having difficulty trying not to press too hard. As an ex mechanic I have fairly strong fingers. I know I can experiment with trying thicker guage strings but would welcome suggestions of a good compromise or should I persevere until I adjust my touch. Is this a common problem. I did not realise by pressing too hard the note could sound off.

Cheers JohnC.

# 1
William MG
Full Access
William MG
Full Access
09/22/2020 2:50 pm

Hi John

I am not a tech but I have electric guitars strung with 9's to 11's and they stay in tune. I don't think string gauge is the issue.

This year the diet is definitely gonna stick!

# 2
snojones
Full Access
snojones
Full Access
09/22/2020 4:02 pm

10s might solve your problem but, there could be other issues as well. How old are your strings?That could be your problem. If they are more than a month old, try changing them and see if that helps.

As to squeezing the notes out of tune... My Parker (with 09s) can be pushed out of tune if I squeeze the neck too tight. Not easily, but it can be done. I think it depends a lot on how high your frets are. I don't have a mechinic's finger strength and I can do it. I suspect that anybody with strong hands could do so if their frets were high enough.