How much effort to unlearn how I hold my pick?

nixonpca
Full Access
nixonpca
Full Access
05/21/2020 3:22 am

I've been playing for many years, but not particularly well, so I joined GT to try and up my game a bit. But I know I have lots of bad habits I may need to unlearn.

One of them involves holding the pick. I got into the habit of holding the pick with both the forefinger and middle finger opposite the thumb. Suspect I am also holding it too hard.

Everything I've seen suggests that this is really not the best way to hold a pick. I'm trying to figure out how much of an issue it is and whether there are some specific drills that would help me learn the correct way of holding it.

Thanks for any ideas anyone has on that score.

# 1
djlawrence1988
djlawrence1988
05/21/2020 11:09 am

If you have been playing for years like that it will almost certainly take a lot of effort to change it. If it were me I would just carry on with my usual practice routines (scales, chord changes, song practice but at slower tempos etc.) but while consciously holding the pick between the thumb and the index finger. You will almost certainly be tempted to swap back to your usual style of picking because it is more comfortable for you but aslong as you are mindful it will eventually become the new normal. There will not be a quick fix, just mindful repetition.

I would also try holding the pick the way you want to while watching tv or listening to music to increase your familiarity with it on more of an unconcious level.

Please feel free to take my advice with a grain of salt, as I have only been playing for a couple of months. I do have experience with successfully unlearning bad habits from other disciplines though, so that will hopefully lend my advice some credibility :).

I hope this helps a little.

# 2
JeffS65
JeffS65
05/21/2020 3:41 pm
Originally Posted by: nixonpca