I’m new here but super impressed

jgergeceff
jgergeceff
03/08/2020 6:21 am

I am 64 years old and started guitar when I was nine years old . First electric guitar Sears Silvertone . First band 5th grade. Lol . Played off and on but mostly for myself until college then many acoustic solo gigs. Some bands playing clubs ( all over ) literally . I had sold most of my pro stuff and mostly played rhythm guitar and sang. Some basic lead riffs. I quit playing professionally well over a decade ago maybe two , I have a daughter who's an amazing writer and singer . I am pleased to make time to learn to play more lead guitar and learn more about the techniques and technology . It's truly amazing for us baby boomers . I generally have been self taught playing by ear and saw the ad last week and said that's me .. so I'm really happy and excited to be here and want to take my time and follow the lesson plans . I've never learned tabs until now . [br]Thank you.

# 1
William MG
Full Access
William MG
Full Access
03/08/2020 3:13 pm

Welcome jgergeceff,

there are many of us on here getting up in years. It sounds like you have a solid past in music. I do remember those old Sears guitars from the Christmas catalogues. So that dates me lol. I am about to turn 57 this month.

Best of luck with your pursuits.

This year the diet is definitely gonna stick!

# 2
jgergeceff
jgergeceff
03/09/2020 1:34 pm

Thank you for the kind words! [br]I've been blowing out the cobwebs between my brain and pathways to my fingers ! I'm having an amazing time and hope you are too . [br]I'm really trying hard to follow the lesson plan and not ADD all over the place chasing cool riffs . It's still a good sized learning curve for sure ! I wish you the best of luck too ! [br][br]

# 3
Guitar Tricks Admin
Full Access
Guitar Tricks Admin
Full Access
03/09/2020 5:58 pm
Originally Posted by: jgergeceff