Skip the Beginner Electric Guitar

valueseeker
valueseeker
08/15/2018 5:31 am

Hi All,

Hoping for any advice and opinions on this topic.

Quick background - I'm not sure what I would call myself as a guitar player. I'm not a complete beginner as I've been trying to learn guitar on and off since my teens, and as Lisa McCormick said after the end of Guitar Fundamentals 1 lessons - you're not a beginner anymore. But I also wouldn't consider myself an intermediate either.

I've been learning on an acoustic but would like to purchase an electric. Doing some quick research online, many sites recommend either a Squier Strat or Epiphone Les Paul Studio. Both are considered decent beginner guitars. With most things I buy, I always prefer spending more up front and getting good quality than buying cheap first and then having to upgrade later and end up spending more overall. With that, what are your thoughts on spending more up front and buying say a Fender Strat or the higher end Epiphone Les Paul vs the beginner guitars mentioned and upgrading later?

Any suggestions would be much appreciated.

# 1
ChristopherSchlegel
Guitar Tricks Instructor
ChristopherSchlegel
Guitar Tricks Instructor
08/15/2018 6:36 pm

Hey & welcome to GT! Thanks for the background info. That helps.

Originally Posted by: valueseeker

I've been learning on an acoustic but would like to purchase an electric. Doing some quick research online, many sites recommend either a Squier Strat or Epiphone Les Paul Studio. Both are considered decent beginner guitars. With most things I buy, I always prefer spending more up front and getting good quality than buying cheap first and then having to upgrade later and end up spending more overall. With that, what are your thoughts on spending more up front and buying say a Fender Strat or the higher end Epiphone Les Paul vs the beginner guitars mentioned and upgrading later?