my 2nd Guitar Lesson!

malweth
malweth
09/04/2002 2:23 pm
I just had my second guitar lesson last night! It went pretty well... she's started me out with one book I have with the 0-3 frets of the last two strings at 126 bmp.

Unfortunately that's the full 1/2 hour, but I got some good tips for practising and gaining speed.

Think she's going about it the right way? It seems good so far, but it's early yet.
# 1
MikeP.
MikeP.
09/04/2002 6:43 pm
Not sure exactly what you mean but is she having you practice exercises at 126 bpm on only your second guitar lesson? I think thats a bit way to fast. I would slow it way down.

If I were you I would get a new teacher to teach you at your own level so as not to discourage you.
I started learning guitar because of Randy Rhoads..but Yngwie J. Malmsteen is my biggest influence.
# 2
malweth
malweth
09/04/2002 6:46 pm
nah... I'm a pretty quick learner
and 126 BPM is on only one string and 0th, 1st, and 3rd frets

(two strings she says I can slowly pump it up to 126)
# 3
MikeP.
MikeP.
09/04/2002 6:49 pm
quick learner or no quick learner at this stage of your development i would still slow it down...otherwise you'll develop sloppy technique. You may not believe me now...but way in time...you'll see.

Anyone else here agree with me.
I started learning guitar because of Randy Rhoads..but Yngwie J. Malmsteen is my biggest influence.
# 4
malweth
malweth
09/04/2002 7:10 pm
What is technique, exactly?

Is it how you strike the frets with your fingers, how you hold your hands?
# 5
iiholly
hmm
iiholly
hmm
09/05/2002 12:18 am