Songbird Lesson- Future Review of Songs

tonyd79
Full Access
tonyd79
Full Access
09/07/2015 7:15 pm
Mike-

Hello! I finished your Songbird lesson back in early July, good lesson, really enjoyed it! Over the course of the summer I learned perhaps another 4 or 5 songs on GT, learning them beginning to end and wanted to go back and review all of these. Over the two months I forgot to play this one, not remembering the chords and progressions, nor strumming technique used on the song.

With your background I'm sure in your mental library you must be able play at an instant perhaps 100 or more songs. What technique do you use to review and practice these so when called upon you can play these on a dime?? Do you resort to reading sheet music before doing so?? I've been playing guitar continuously for about 4 years. Other than perhaps practicing every single one there must be a special technique in remembering these.

Any input be appreciated.

Tony
# 1
Mike Olekshy
Guitar Tricks Instructor
Mike Olekshy
Guitar Tricks Instructor
09/07/2015 11:24 pm
Hey Tony, great question!

Repetition is the only surefire way the songs will stay in your head long term. For example, if you spend 2 weeks learning a song all the way through and just play it a few times when you've mastered it, chances are that 2 months later you won't remember it!

What I do is that once I've mastered all the parts of a song, I'll jam it start to finish several times per session, just to keep drilling it into my brain. I prefer not to use charts or transcriptions, but sometimes if you're playing a gig on short notice, a chart will save your butt!