song writing

timr1984
Full Access
timr1984
Full Access
03/14/2014 8:03 pm
So? Not many threads on this topic.

I love to write songs.

I's not a professional song writer by any means. I am an ok Guitarist and I have equipment that lets me record a little. I get ideas all the time and so I lay down some tracks.

I am hampered as I suck as a vocalist and of course writing songs helps if you can sing it a little, even if it is only to the person, who you asking to sing the vocal part.

does any one else like to write songs?
# 1
Jeremie Emond
Jeremie Emond
05/17/2014 4:16 am
Hey there
I choose writing/composing over Jamming.
The Feel of Progressing in doing something
is very fulfilling. I would suggest that you
continue singing and here's why...

I'm a drummer and most of the singers
I know became singer because there
was just no one out there to take that place.
Plus with your knowledge of music and rhythm
you won't struggle with your time like a lot of
people do when taking up singing.

I see countless music add about Bands searching
for a Vocal. My own band still does even after 3
years. I even think about taking up singing for
that reason.
# 2
JeffS65
JeffS65
05/17/2014 12:43 pm
Originally Posted by: timr1984I am hampered as I suck as a vocalist and of course writing songs helps if you can sing it a little, even if it is only to the person, who you asking to sing the vocal part.[/QUOTE]

After a number of decades on the planet, playing guitar for more decades of that time than not playing, I always thought I could do ok with some small back up vocals but couldn't carry a song. I couldn't sing like all the power vocalists in the world. A couple of years ago I found I could actually sing and kinda decently too.

I just couldn't sing like Robert Plant.

I now am sure that with few exceptions, most people can sing but it is a matter of finding where that voice lies.