Fast, punk style, 16th note alt pick help

bhagwan
bhagwan
04/03/2013 7:56 pm
Hey folks,

I've been playing off and on for 5+ years and have continuously struggled with this technique. Basically lots of the 90s punk I love (Rancid, most of all) uses lots of palm muting with alternate picking on 16th notes at high tempo (140 to 160bpm). For example, in "Roots Radicals" by Rancid you can hear the little 16th palm muted chunka chunka after the second beat of the measure in the intro to the song.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wpzkGQhftMw

My problem is my pick gets caught on the up stroke. I can minimize this by choking way up on the pick and basically riding my fingers on the strings, making tiny movements. My problem is this is a really tight hand position that's not fluid. If I try to keep this up for a while my hand binds up and gets tense. I'm binding my wrist and flexing it left and right, rather than rotating it like a more natural strum motion. When I loosen and strum more fluidly, I keep getting my pick caught on the upstroke and lose control.

The good players I've seen (Lars in Rancid and others) seem to have a much looser hand when playing this style. Anyone have techniques, exercises, tips etc. to get me moving in the right direction? I've tried loosening my grip on the pick, but then it just rotates or looses position. I've tried softer picks but then they just fluff on the strings and loose the good sound.

Thunderkiss '65, though slower, is another song that uses palm muted 16ths in the intro riff, and this one also frustrates me. I can play it, but it's not fluid - feels forced.

This has daunted me for years.

Would love any tips! It's my kryptonite!

- Andy
# 1
Slipin Lizard
Slipin Lizard
04/03/2013 8:30 pm