Is a metronome (sp?) really necessary?

EverRude
EverRude
04/18/2002 9:09 pm
I'm just starting out. Working on scales trying to get my fingers to do what I want. At this point in my development is a metronome needed? Will it help? Or should I just use it to get into the habit?

Thanks for any advice.

Peace...
# 1
Slasher
Slasher
04/18/2002 9:45 pm
I wouldn't bother with a met, not with scales anyway. I've never used one. The rhthm comes naturally to your playin, just keep playin til it feels right. But if you feel like the need to get one, get one. I'm sure there loads of guitarists out there that do use them. But I'd wait til your a bit more fluent coz it might just put you off.
Remember, the chickens that fly will always beat the rubber plants that bounce!
# 2

04/18/2002 10:08 pm
I disagree. Use when practicing, especially scales, and ESPECIALLY when you're starting.

"The rhthm comes naturally to your playin" - I disagree, I think rhythm comes with training, especially when you start building speed. Using a metronome will allow you gauge your process, as well as build a solid sense of timing.
# 3
Slasher
Slasher
04/18/2002 10:14 pm
Is it me, or do people just not do what feels right to them anymore? I feel that we all have to learn in the same way. I say, if you think it's right, do it. Coz we all gotta play to our individuality otherwise whats the point in us all playin, we all just gunna have the same strenghts n weakness. i've never used a met so the rythm comes through as what it sounds like to me, so it adds a little of me into whatever I'm playin.
# 4
James8831
James8831
04/18/2002 10:27 pm
is a great help for timing.

Once you can play a piece in time and at (approx) the "right" number of beats per minute - it usually tells you on sheet music and on some tab what this is- then you can fancy it up,slow down,speed up whatever.

It's great to be able to futz about with the feel of a piece,but if you want accuracy.....