A major chord-impossible

terra25
terra25
02/01/2011 9:02 pm
Hi,
I'm brand new to guitar tricks. I've begun the fundamentals 1 training and am on the last part where we are learning chords. I need some assistance. The A major chord seems impossible to me. If I can get all my fingers in the 2nd fret, I struggle with one or two of the strings being muted either b/c my top finger is too close to the 1st fret bar or my 3rd finger is too close to the 2nd fret. I notice on Chris's video that he is pretty close to both fret bars but his guitar sounds right. Is it something I am doing wrong? I have arched my fingers up to make sure I am only touching that specifi string, but still, I either get that weird vibrating string sound or it just sounds muted. It's driving me crazy!. Also, could it be my guitar? It's just a $100 acoustic guitar, is this less of a problem with different guitars?

Any advice would be appreciated!

Terra
# 1
haroldjenkins
haroldjenkins
02/02/2011 2:07 am
I also had a really tough time cramming three fingers down on the 2nd fret for an A maj chord. The tip of my middle finger is a bit big and fat compared to the others.
I learned it was a lot easier for me to just use the index and middle finger to hold down and fret all three strings. Alternately, you can try the middle and ring fingers. See if that helps.

As for your guitar, an action that's too high can cause problems especially with beginners. If you know someone familiar with guitars they can look at for you and judge if they think there's a problem with the action. You can also measure it yourself if you have a decent ruler that goes down to 64ths or 32nds. But try some alternate fingerings for the A chord to see how it goes.
# 2
Slipin Lizard
Slipin Lizard
02/02/2011 2:33 am