Music or Lyrics first?

Dielle Lodrick
Dielle Lodrick
11/20/2008 8:37 am
Hi!

I was wondering how other people go about writing songs - what comes first for you? Where does it all begin? I am most frequently asked whether I write music or lyrics first - it is that simple for some people?

Looking forward to hearing from you guys

Dielle
:)
# 1
Kevin Taylor
Guitar Tricks Instructor
Kevin Taylor
Guitar Tricks Instructor
11/20/2008 11:45 am
I think it depends on the person. I've met songwriters who start both ways.
It's almost like meeting guitar players that are self-taught vs. theory based players. Or people who like math compared to people who like art.

Some people I've worked with spend a lot of time writing out lyrics or poetry and the music almost comes as an afterthought.
With me, it's the opposite. I have a hard time even listening to lyrics and vocals in a song and concentrate on the backup musicians.

It kind of depends on the song too. Sometimes you come up with a really great hook or saying and end up writing the music around that.
Other times, the music almost makes you want to say certain words because of the way the rhythm sounds.
# 2
sueshoes
sueshoes
11/23/2008 2:08 pm
hi Dielle

What do you hear first? You can be at your instrument with a chord structure or a mood or driving your car and have the chorus pop in your head... There is no right or wrong or official way. That is the beauty of writing YOUR songs it is done YOUR way.... ;) Just sit down and start.... :)
# 3
Dielle Lodrick
Dielle Lodrick
11/23/2008 2:43 pm
Hi, thanks for your replies.
I totally agree that it is a really personal thing, and I find that I start with a 'seed' - that can be a sound, or a mood, or something that has happened that's provoked a thought, a rythm on a train, or a dripping tap. Then I nurture the seed until it blooms.