Fingers, strings and all them things

dimin
dimin
03/08/2008 6:17 pm
Hi folks, as I stated in my original post, I am 68 years old and have been trying desperately all of my life to play guitar without success. This will probably be my last ditch effort. I have quality instruments in both acoustic and electric. Now come the questions and comments I have and responses both pro and con will be most welcome. To begin with, I may be wrong, but it seems to me that most really good artists seem to have long slender fingers that are deft and seem to have a life of their own. My fingers are short and small. Could this be part of my problem. I practice regularly for hours at a clip (part of my problem maybe?) Now, I am a retired Law Enforcement Officer who has had to qualify with a weapon his entire life and for several years was a certified instructor. This required extreme and concise muscle control in the wrists and fingers and as a result, I am wondering if I have a tendency to put too much pressure on the strings and at the same time restrict smooth chord changes. The dreaded pause between changes. Secondly, is it recommended that I start out with light gauge strings on both acoustic and electric until I get the hang of things, and is their an advantage learning on either the acoustic or electric or vice versa? I could never get the "F" chord down either, any suggestions there? Finally, with my short little fingers, instead of gripping the neck in the middle back of the instrument, should I try it with my thumb overlapping the fret board? As previously stated, all comments and suggestions are welcome, including hang it up and try another instrument old man.
Thank you folks,
Dick :D
# 1
BrokenJera
BrokenJera
03/08/2008 6:44 pm