how to make money as a guitarist.

jamesplaysgitar
jamesplaysgitar
10/20/2007 5:53 am
so anyways, im a 14 year old guitarist whos been playin about 5 years, i consider myself above average (sweeping tapping, sweep-tapping) and im just wondering how you can make money off guitar/music
# 1
ren
ren
10/21/2007 3:01 pm
Well, you can play and/or you can teach.

You could play in your own band, or as a session musician, or in the house band at a theatre, or you could sell tunes for movies, or samples for commercials or.... well pretty much anything.

You could teach through a school, store or privately... groups or individuals. A mate of mine does lessons over a webcam...

Bottom line... there are all sorts of options. Reading music is pretty much essential for some things, but you can take it where you want. If you don't already read, you should... :cool:

Check out my music, video, lessons & backing tracks here![br]https://www.renhimself.com

# 2
earthman buck
earthman buck
10/25/2007 7:13 pm
Ask Kevin Taylor, I seem to remember him posting some informative details on this a while back. Around the same time he changed his username from Schmange to Kevin Taylor, in fact.
# 3
HDJ
Explanation: Southerner
HDJ
Explanation: Southerner
11/05/2007 10:41 pm
Easiest way to make money as a guitar player? Sell your guitar...... :D

Just kidding, couldn't resist......pay attention to ren and earthman buck, they make much more sense than I do....

But I can say that it's not easy to make money as a musician.....
Check out my band:
Havoc Din
# 4
RandyEllefson
RandyEllefson
11/07/2007 12:31 am
Cover bands make more money than original ones for performing, unless you make it big.

Teaching is your basic thing.
Like riffs? Melody? Shred? Free mp3s? Acoustic guitars galore? Download tunes from my new acoustic album, classical guitar album, or hard rock albums at www.randyellefson.com
# 5
quickfingers
quickfingers
11/08/2007 8:20 pm