Need Advise from LoudSpeaker Experts

Freedom
Freedom
10/11/2001 1:04 am
Does anyone know the pros and cons of putting a back on an open-backed cabinet? I have a 2x12 open-backed Marshall combo, and am wondering if there would be any tonal benefit to enclosing the back.

In addition to other tonal characteristics, I was hoping this would also add more punch and bottom to my sound.

Any insights would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,

Freedom

# 1
Hootayah
Hootayah
10/11/2001 1:47 am
I'm no pro but I think the speaker needs air movement... by putting a back on you'd be restricting that. You can add a port to solve that & there's a specific formula that you use to get the correct size but I don't know what it is.
Hey you kids! Get outta that Jello tree!! :mad:
# 2
Lordathestrings
Gear Guru
Lordathestrings
Gear Guru
10/11/2001 4:26 am
Its worth remembering that guitar rigs are set up with different goals than home stereo systems, but the same techniques apply.

Open-back cabinets are designed to create a path from the back of the speaker to the front face of the cabinet that is just the right length to cause the soundwaves from the front and the back to add to each other. This is usually more effective at lower frequencies, but there is sometimes noticeable effect at higher frequencies as well.

Its a bit of a crap-shoot because the wavelength gets shorter as the frequency increases. This means that the same path-length that caused the two wavefronts to add up at one frequency, may cause some cancellation at another frequency.

Closed-back cabinets do not make direct use of the sound waves coming off the back of the speaker cone. This means that at some frequencies, they're less efficient than open-back cabs. It also means they are less likely to suffer from cancellation effects.

Another difference is the way the two cabinets 'feel' to a speaker.