Whats the deal?

Poontang_clan
Poontang_clan
11/21/2006 4:32 am
Ok, so whats the difference in tones between stacks and all. If you're using a guitar processor and things like EQ and all,what will the tone of the head like mesa have to contribute to the tone of the final sound that comes out of the cab?
"We forgot to call Dylan" "Who the F*ck is Dylan?" "oh, I mean xDylanx" " oh yea we forgot to call him"
# 1
z0s0_jp
Riffologist
z0s0_jp
Riffologist
11/21/2006 6:48 am
if i had a mesa i would not process it....it would be like sunglasses at a fireworks show.
"Dammit Jim!! I'm a guitarist not a roadie...so haul my gear"
# 2
Kevin Taylor
Guitar Tricks Instructor
Kevin Taylor
Guitar Tricks Instructor
11/21/2006 12:31 pm
You should download a trial demo of "AmpliTube" or other similar program and try out the different combinations of amps and cabinets. You'd be amazed at what a subtle difference just a change from a 4X10 to a 2X12 cabinet can make.
You can also try different micing techniques and effects pedal combinations.

It's not the real thing, but it comes pretty close to emulating what you sounds you'd get.
# 3
Poontang_clan
Poontang_clan
11/21/2006 12:50 pm
Originally Posted by: schmangeYou should download a trial demo of "AmpliTube" or other similar program and try out the different combinations of amps and cabinets. You'd be amazed at what a subtle difference just a change from a 4X10 to a 2X12 cabinet can make.
You can also try different micing techniques and effects pedal combinations.

It's not the real thing, but it comes pretty close to emulating what you sounds you'd get.

Thanks ill give it a shot it might ease my mind a little

But question if anyone knows does Petrucci use the distortion from the mesa amps and just use the rest of his rack gear for effects and to shape the tone of that ? because i've seen a couple guys with mesas and their tone sucked but that could be because they dont know how to set it up maybe?