is this ignorant???

z0s0_jp
Riffologist
z0s0_jp
Riffologist
01/24/2006 9:19 pm
my band is recording in a small studio. i play through a blue voodoo half stack. we play hard rock/metal. the other guitarist is playing through a tube fender blues junior practice amp. they have the fender in a in bathroom which is probably 4 x 10. my halfstack is in a closet that is 3 x 3 with foam on 3 walls and my amp faces the back of the closed door. both amps are miced. my reverb is off. i can only put my amp at 1 1/2 or 2 which sucks cause my tubes are not being pushed. they did this so the sound would not bleed through to the drum mics in our live recording. need knowledgable input. should i now record my tracks at higher volumes and remove the earlier?? i know my amp sounds better at high volumes. should i come out of the closet?? ;)
i have no line out on my amp. thanks for any input. :cool:
"Dammit Jim!! I'm a guitarist not a roadie...so haul my gear"
# 1
magicninja
Guitar Tricks Moderator
magicninja
Guitar Tricks Moderator
01/24/2006 9:49 pm
I can understand the not wanting to mix the sound signals but the way they are going about it is to say the least stupid. If you can't play up to your full potential or how you want to play, something is definatly wrong.
Magicninja
Guitar Tricks Moderator

"If it feels right, play it. If it feels wrong, play it fasterā€ - Magicninja
www.GuitarTricks.com - Home of Online Guitar Lessons
# 2
Superhuman
Superhuman
01/24/2006 10:17 pm
Man, I hope an engineer didn't advise you guys to record this way...