Hello there from a fellow online trainer...

kevinmorris22
kevinmorris22
05/12/2020 3:04 pm

My name is Kevin from Ft Worth, TX and I run the YouTube channel MCrider where I am a motorcycle safety instructor.

I have always wanted to learn guitar and have had a couple of unsuccessful attempts in the past just using books. I have been doing Guitar Tricks for about 2 weeks now. I spend 15 -20 minutes a session and try to do 2 or 3 sessions a day.

So far if I struggle with a particular exercise I just keep working on that until I feel I am ready to move on. Currently, I am hanging out at the "Early Bird Gala" song. It is funny that I feel like I play it so much better on my own and as soon as I try it with the band I frequently get lost. LOL

Oh well, I am having a blast doing this and wanted to compliment Lisa on being a great instructor.

You can find me at www.MCrider.com and www.YouTube.com/MCrider.

# 1
spb1122
Full Access
spb1122
Full Access
05/12/2020 4:17 pm

Hi Kevin.

I sure can relate to the "getting lost" thing with playing guitar.

Your post made me think about muscle memory working with the ability to concentrate on different things at the same time in a different way. In particular, motorcycle and guitar.

Riding a bike involves lots of muscle memory AND concentration. I remember first learning to ride. Clutch, throttle, shift, brake, balance, lean....all have to work together....AND you still have to pay attention to everything that's around you. Eventually, the muscle memory stuff became almost automatic, and required less "thinking and concentration", right?

I've found it similar with guitar and playing along with music or others. I have to learn something solo, to the point it's kinds coming without thinking about every little bit of it, before I can play along with anything.

# 2
William MG
Full Access
William MG
Full Access
05/12/2020 5:48 pm

Welcome Kevin,

Like Steve I am a fellow rider and newish to the guitar.