Hi, I'm Dara

daraconn
daraconn
09/22/2019 8:52 pm

Hi there everyone! I've decided to try (again) to learn to play the guitar. I've taken my old, long-neglected, guitar out of the shed, had it restrung, and signed up for a year's subscription to Guitar Tricks.

My guitar is a nylon-string acoustic Kiso Suzuki G-100. I've had it since I was 8 years old (40 years ago!) It hasn't been well treated over the years but it still looks and sounds good!

I've been really enjoying Lisa's Absolute Beginners lessons. I really wanted to start from scratch and build up from a solid foundation. My "project" is to follow the courses systematically and see what happens!

# 1
William MG
Full Access
William MG
Full Access
09/22/2019 9:03 pm

Welcome Dara.

Hoping you finally get to play that guitar!

This year the diet is definitely gonna stick!

# 2
daraconn
daraconn
10/18/2019 8:56 pm

Reporting back after the first 4 weeks.

It's going well for me so far. It's day 28 and I haven't missed a day so far. I've been working my way through the guitar fundamentals course and I think I'm really building a solid foundation. Lisa's a really good teacher.

Of course I'm still clumsy and often hit the wrong string but gradually I think I am gaining a "feel" for the guitar.

# 3
William MG
Full Access
William MG
Full Access
10/18/2019 9:21 pm

Good news Dara! Keep that enthusiasm going!

# 4
daraconn
daraconn
08/20/2020 9:28 pm

Reporting back again - coming up to a year since I joined.

So, I've almost completed Guitar Fundamentals 1 and 2 and starting to look at what's next, wondering whether to sign up for another year.

I haven't missed a day so far this year. My poor neglected guitar has really come back to life!

For each day's session I start by replaying the previous day's lesson, then if I feel ready I move on to the next lesson. I've really enjoyed having Lisa as a teacher and I've picked up a lot of skills and knowledge.