Power Chords - Why?

poshgirl
poshgirl
05/07/2018 7:00 pm

Hi there - I am going throught the fundamental courses and just finished the 1st course - yay! Super glad I took the course. Really helpful and the way the site is set up is pretty amazing.

I am ready to start the 2nd course but the first thing is power chords.

Can someone tell me how power chords are used? I assume they are mainly for rock...?

I am trying to determine if they are going to be something I need to know along the way...I want to play classical and country.

Thank you,

Maggie

# 1
Meridirh
Full Access
Meridirh
Full Access
05/08/2018 10:32 am

I can't speak for country players but as a classical guitarist myself, I use powerchords for arranging only. I've not used many so far, mainly due to counter point in classical music but for some instances in which I want to add some of my own perspectives I sometimes toy around with them.

For country, however, I'm pretty sure you would find some use for them on a regular basis.

Limits are selfmade. Break beyond them!

www.meridirhproductions.com | Too old to learn multiple instruments? Let's put it to a test...

Guitar: Started January 2016

Styles/Genres I am currently studying:

- Classical Guitar

- Latin Style (Flamenco, Soleares)

- Folk Style (Pop, Celtic, Irish, Gypsi)

- (Fingerstyle) Blues

- (Fingerstyle) Jazz

# 2
JeffS65
JeffS65
05/08/2018 2:59 pm
Originally Posted by: poshgirl

Hi there - I am going throught the fundamental courses and just finished the 1st course - yay! Super glad I took the course. Really helpful and the way the site is set up is pretty amazing.

I am ready to start the 2nd course but the first thing is power chords.

Can someone tell me how power chords are used? I assume they are mainly for rock...?

I am trying to determine if they are going to be something I need to know along the way...I want to play classical and country.

Thank you,

Maggie

The simple answer is; yes.