Finger Stretching and Conditioning

Rockin Rick
Rockin Rick
05/08/2004 4:51 am
I remember a while back when I used to study the martial arts and at that time my instructors really taught the importance of stretching and relaxation to keep your body loose and to be most effective in your movements. I've learned to apply those things I've learned to other things in life, such as my job. I do construction for a living and It really helps out to warm up the body and stretch to avoid injury while picking up heavy objects. I'm just a beginner playing the electric guitar and I've been trying to spend time streaching out my neck, body, wrist and fingers. Does anyone know of any good exercises to stretch out the fingers and also exercises to strenghten them? Also I have kinda of thick fingers and I wish my fingers were longer and more flexible. How do you get your fingers to be more flexible? Does this just get better with experience as you have more time in playing the guitar? I'd really like to increase my flexibility. Thanks for any and all help. Oh, by the way it's my first day here in the forum. Nice to meet you all.
[FONT=Arial Black]Rockin Rick[/font]
Originally Posted by: Rockin RickYou Never get a second chance at a first impression! Make it a good one!
# 1
mc9mm
Guitar Tricks Instructor
mc9mm
Guitar Tricks Instructor
05/08/2004 9:04 am
Originally Posted by: Rocking RickDoes anyone know of any good exercises to stretch out the fingers and also exercises to strenghten them?[/quote]
ey..
http://www.guitartricks.com/2000/search.php?input=stretching&submit=go

Originally Posted by: Rockin RickDoes this just get better with experience as you have more time in playing the guitar?

Yes indeed. It takes a while, but when you least expect it, it'll be like:
"hmm, I haven't been able to reach that fret before...?"
So just keep up the stretching and your fingers will soon follow. Or something.