Jimmy Page VS. Ritchie Blackmore

jleraan
jleraan
02/09/2004 4:59 pm
I've known both guitarists for a long time. However, now I've decided to study them closer. I've listened to several songs by both, but I am no expert yet. What I would like is, a couple of people to write a few sentences about Page and Blackmore's respective styles and trademarks. Also, you could include it if there are any special song which pretty much sums up their style.
Well, basically, tell me a little about how they differ from each other.

I can't wait to start buying their albums!

- Oh, and by the way, I've got a version of Smoke on the water, but when I heard the song on the radio, the solo was different... longer? Are there several versions of this song? I think I preferred the song with the longer solo. And no, I don't think any of the versions was live.

[Edited by jleraan on 02-09-2004 at 11:03 AM]
# 1
Jimmi431
Jimmi431
02/09/2004 5:50 pm
wow okay you picked to amazing guitarists there with some what similar styles. both created amazing riffs just look at smoke on the water - blackmore and whole lotta love - page both hugely well known riffs.
in the way that there styles differ:
Jimmy Page was more influenced by folk than blackmore if you look at some of zeppelins stuff such as going to california very folky an he was also very blues based in his approach. i dont think there is a particular song that covers jimmy as his styles vary so much, also not only was he a great guitarist but he was also amazing at arrangement. songs to look at for his diferent styles are
1. Stairway to Heaven (obviously, shows his folk roots with an amazing arrangement, the best solo ever written(no arguments!) an a kick ass riff!)
2. The Rain Song - most beautiful thing to have come out of a guitar! arranged by page its damn damn good!
3.Since I've Been Lovin You. - My favorite ever blues track again amazing solos!
right okay cant be bothered going on any more so there are just three.