intonation hassle

Vella
Vella
01/03/2004 9:58 pm
Got a new guitar recently. It plays fine and sounds fine.
Apart from the bottom E string. Tune it to open string no problems. Fretted notes sound SHARP. I have lengthened the strings scale length as much as it is physically possible.
Notes fretted still sound sharp.Could probably get away with this......but my Status Quo riffs sound awful!!!
Repubblika Ta'Malta
# 1
finger_cruncher
finger_cruncher
01/03/2004 10:12 pm
Intonation is a very messy thing and I suggest you get your guitar professionally intonated. Unless you're very experienced with calibrating your intonation, you're just going to mess it up worse.

# 2
Vella
Vella
01/04/2004 6:34 pm
.............but aren't these people who set up guitars
a little on the pricey side? Like car mechanics, they look
at the car,assess how much the owner knows about mechanics,
and overcharge accordingly,(only the situation is regarding a guitar......I'm a bit of a beginner).
If I take the guitar back to the shop who sold it,it could
imply that it wasn't set up on purchase OR that I might have"tampered" with it!
Repubblika Ta'Malta
# 3
Lordathestrings
Gear Guru
Lordathestrings
Gear Guru
01/04/2004 7:47 pm
Any of the [u]good[/u] guitar techs I've ever dealt with are in that line of work because they love guitars. If your tech behaves the way you describe auto mechanics, you need a different tech. And you should shop around for a new mechanic too!
Lordathestrings
Guitar Tricks Moderator

www.GuitarTricks.com - Home of Online Guitar Lessons
# 4
Pantallica1
Insert witty remark here
Pantallica1
Insert witty remark here
01/04/2004 7:57 pm
I agree, I'm an auto mechanic, and I don't ever charge people like that. Unless they have Caddies. (j/k)

Stupid Stereotypes.

And about the intonation, take it to a tech.
Sometimes I hit notes only dogs can hear.
# 5
Lordathestrings
Gear Guru
Lordathestrings
Gear Guru
01/04/2004 8:31 pm
Originally posted by Pantallica1