Tab help needed. Also Hi from a new member.

nsx_swami
nsx_swami
12/03/2003 5:35 pm
Hi guys and gals. I'm just getting into guitar playing but I have run into a problem. I have been learning from books mostly and VERY slowly have been making progress but I tried TAB for the first time last night. I can't figure out what this is supposed to be though. What does 7^0 and 7^8^7\5-7 mean? The following is a small portion of the song if that helps. Also when you are supposed to play both E strings at the same time do most of you strum all the stings or pluck one string with a finger and pick the other?

E-7-----------7^0---------|---------7---8---7^8^7\5-7--
B-----0-----------0-------|---------0---0-----------0--
G---------0-----------0---|-----0----------------------
D-------------------------|----------------------------
A-------------------------|----------------------------
E-0-----------------------|-0--------------------------

Thanks for any advice you have.
Jimmie showed me alot of stuff, but there was a time when he warned, 'If you ask me to show you anything again, I'll kick your ass.' Well, I did and he did. - SRV
# 1
iamthe_eggman
Grizzled Spellchecker
iamthe_eggman
Grizzled Spellchecker
12/03/2003 6:33 pm
Don't fret! Ha! Just kidding! You will need to fret! Ha! I kill myself!

There are many different types of notation for tab, and while they should be explained in a legend, many times they aren't.

Here are some common tab symbols, including the ones you're asking about:

hammer-on: 7h9; 7^9
pull-off: 9p7; 9^7
slide: 7s9; 7/9
bend: 7b9; 7^9
release bend: 9r7; 9^7
ghost note: (7)
harmonic: <7>; (7); *7