Double,triple,alternate picking Help

Guitar-Sam
Guitar-Sam
11/28/2003 11:39 am
Can someone give me advice on how to losen up when alternate picking??
I am a rock guitarist with 10yrs playing.I recently had an oportunity to try a semi-pro/pro metal band,based on my rock lead playing.Thing is I never really ever had to do such quick alternate picking on rock rythms.
Problem I'm having is when I try to pick this fast(especially if its not just on the top 2 strings)my arm tensces up and I can't do it.If I practice for awhile by the time I get it my arm turns to JELLO and I can't do it again.
It wouldn't be so bad if it were all double picked but allot of it it like down strokes with quick bursts of triple picking.
Thanks
Certiied Stratocaster NUT!!
# 1
noticingthemistake
Crime Fighter
noticingthemistake
Crime Fighter
11/28/2003 4:19 pm
Keep Practicing! It may not be the answer your looking for but that's what you got to do.
"My whole life is a dark room...ONE BIG DARK ROOM" - a.f.i.
# 2
chris mood
High Bandwidth
chris mood
High Bandwidth
11/28/2003 6:42 pm
You have to work on relaxing while you play. Try some visual imagery stuff, like imagine that your right arm is as light as a feather. Also work on your breathing while playing, take nice steady breaths. This is hard to do when playing heavy metal because the music is so aggressive it naturally causes your body and muscles to tense up.

For warm ups try playing your scales/licks/finger excercises without distortion, a cleaner/mellower sound on your instrument may help you relax a bit. Once you have it remember how your body felt at that time when you reached that "zone", strive for that same physical control when you play with the band.

[Edited by chris mood on 11-28-2003 at 12:46 PM]
# 3
chris mood
High Bandwidth
chris mood
High Bandwidth
11/28/2003 6:53 pm