Building a Tube Amp from scratch

nasum_human
nasum_human
10/06/2003 11:11 pm
Hey there guys, I ordered two Kevin O Connor books last week and they arrived today. I'm doing a masters degree in electronic engineering so I figured I may as well link my studies and my hobby together!
Has anyone else here made their own amp or even FX unit? how did it turn out? what are the problems and pitfalls the books dont tell you about? any other info worth sharing?
I've never attempted this before, but I really wanna make something I can use!
guns dont kill people, people kill people, and monkeys do too (if they've got a gun)
# 1
hairbndrckr
hairbndrckr
10/07/2003 12:46 am
I've screwed around with modding tube amps but never built one from scratch. I can tell you this... Building one will probably cost more than buying one...
Of course if you really want to I got a bunch of marshall, mesa, and soldano schematics.
In Marshall, I have an 800,900,2000,Plexi, and a lead 12.
If this is your first project, I would suggest the plexi or the lead 12.
The only Mesa schematic I have is the dual rectifier. But then again that's probably one of the best amps they ever made.
As for Soldano, it's an SLO100 and it's not really a schematic, rather a bunch of really detailed pictures on the layout of the amp.

Let me know if you want any of them.
So. If you throw a cat out of a car window, is it considered "kitty litter"?
# 2
Lordathestrings
Gear Guru
Lordathestrings
Gear Guru
10/07/2003 2:19 am
Take a lesson from the CBS years of Fender amps. A bunch of well-meaning engineers ruined the character of the amps by 'improving' on the design. A lot of things don't make sense initially, like the small size of the power supply filter caps. They seem like an obvious place to make improvements, but the small cap values result in a momentary sag in the B+ line, which is where that wonderful 'swell' comes from! Be aware that your first guess is almost always going to be wrong.
Lordathestrings