View post (My Rant for the Day)

View thread

joshldoherty
joshldoherty
10/08/2003 9:03 pm
Man, I have my fair share of stories where I've had to deal with complete and total dicks. I work as a youth soccer referee and I am proud of it. When I'm working, I look and act like a professional, so I get pissed off when some stupid idiot parent that knows nothing about the rules of soccer starts bitching at me because little Johnny fell over and hurt his knee. Coaches do the same thing, just louder and with seemingly more authority. Half of them don't know the details of the rules, which I know like the back of my hand, yet they still disagree with everything. The one thing that sucks is that I can't speak my mind when I'm reffing, because the coaches will refer me to my bosses and to the league, and then I'll be out of work and forced to quit being a referee, so I have to grin and bear it, but where I draw the line is when the same people keep on me for random useless trivial things that don't matter and, even if I did make a mistake, didn't cost their team a thing. Thats when I get to go up to them, face to face, and tell them to shutup or they watch the game from the parking lot. I don't get a kick out of doing that, but when I have to, they shut up pretty damn quickly.