Can I start with fingerstyle right away?

lindagilson806
lindagilson806
05/09/2024 9:52 am

Hello!
I've been learning classic guitar for a couple months now, give or take. Pretty much getting my fingers tips build up and now I'm able to play for quite some time without having to stop due to the pain.

For now, I enrolled the guitartricks course, although I've only completed a couple modules, but I've been playing a few varied songs that I enjoy, to get me going.

One of the things that made me pick up the guitar is actually fingerstyle, and except for one of the songs I'm learning, all of them apply it.

Now.. I'm getting into more "intermediate" stuff, I would say, and things get harder as I still have no finger coordination. Two of the songs I recently picked up are the Main Theme for The Last of Us, and the Main Theme for Interstellar, which heavily apply the technique.

Now, with enough background.. I'd like to ask: Would it be advisable to start digging more and more into fingerstyle? Should I first "master the basics"? Is it ok to do both? smash karts

This might sound as a dumb question, but I definitely wouldn't like to get started with something which is going to prove to hinder me a lot in terms of progression, so I thought I'd better ask.

Thanks!

# 1
ChristopherSchlegel
Guitar Tricks Instructor
ChristopherSchlegel
Guitar Tricks Instructor
05/09/2024 12:58 pm
#1 Originally Posted by: lindagilson806

Hello!
I've been learning classic guitar for a couple months now, give or take. Pretty much getting my fingers tips build up and now I'm able to play for quite some time without having to stop due to the pain.

For now, I enrolled the guitartricks course, although I've only completed a couple modules, but I've been playing a few varied songs that I enjoy, to get me going.

One of the things that made me pick up the guitar is actually fingerstyle, and except for one of the songs I'm learning, all of them apply it.