Playing and talking/singing

Axl_Rose
Axl_Rose
07/20/2003 11:41 am
Ive been playing for a couple years and pretty good, perhaps as good as some how have been playing for 5, because i play so much! But question is.. how do you play guitar while talking to a pal or singing! If im playing and some starts talking to me i i cant play. I find it hard to keep the beat. Its the same with singing! If i try to sing along too i usualy loses the beat! Am I really stupid?
# 1
noticingthemistake
Crime Fighter
noticingthemistake
Crime Fighter
07/20/2003 1:37 pm
I think your better of not trying to play and talk to someone else at the same time. Cool if you want to show off but I find that your only being rude to the person who is trying to talk to you. Singing and playing at the same time is just another thing you need to practice. Try learning some nirvana songs while singing and playing at the same time. That should get you used to it. Then it will just come natural. :)
"My whole life is a dark room...ONE BIG DARK ROOM" - a.f.i.
# 2
Dr_simon
Guitar Tricks Instructor
Dr_simon
Guitar Tricks Instructor
07/20/2003 4:28 pm
I find it is easy if the melody follows the progression you are playing and it only gets difficult if you are playing a break (or something that requires a lot of concentration) and trying to sing / doing backing at the same time. However, as ever Noticingthemistake has it spot on, practice is the answer !
My instructors page and www.studiotrax.net for all things recording.
my toons Brought to you by Dr BadGAS
# 3
Axl_Rose
Axl_Rose
07/20/2003 8:25 pm
I dont mean taking and showing off! Am meaning how if Im playing as soon as someone starts taking to me i cant play at the same time!
# 4
hairbndrckr
hairbndrckr
07/20/2003 9:24 pm
That just means you're thinking too much! LOL :)

Get married, you'll get used to it quickly!

So. If you throw a cat out of a car window, is it considered "kitty litter"?
# 5
David C
David C
07/21/2003 5:42 pm