Spark Mini & recommendations for a good mini amp?

Whune
Full Access
Whune
Full Access
05/31/2023 5:35 pm

After hearing rave reviews about it.
I took the Positive Grid Spark mini for a test drive

I just didn't feel good about buying it sound unheard in person.

after trying several settings (for guitar) I was on the fence disappointed;
after trying a bass setting (for bass) I just turned it off and walked away.

I am having trouble reconciling the reviews with my own in person experience.

# 1
john of MT
Full Access
john of MT
Full Access
05/31/2023 6:30 pm

My Spark Go shipped today.  It's even smaller, quite a bit smaller, than the Spark Mini... think of it as an extra thick iPhone.  I ordered it on a lark, the pre-release price being a significant drop from the retail price.  

I'm considering the purchase a 'toy' but I thought it might work when and if I ever take my electric to a get together... something I've never done before.  Or a second amp for when I have a visiting player... something that has happened before.  😉

Anyhoo... at the worse it will serve as a Bluetooth speaker for streaming.  My expectations are low so any disappointment will be minor.  

I didn't do the due diligence you did... the Go is a new product and wasn't scheduled to ship until "late May."  We shall see.

https://www.positivegrid.com/products/spark-go

"It takes a lot of devotion and work, or maybe I should say play, because if you love it, that's what it amounts to. I haven't found any shortcuts, and I've been looking for a long time."
-- Chet Atkins
# 2
mjgodin
mjgodin
06/01/2023 3:52 pm
#2 Originally Posted by: john of MT

My Spark Go shipped today.  It's even smaller, quite a bit smaller, than the Spark Mini... think of it as an extra thick iPhone.  I ordered it on a lark, the pre-release price being a significant drop from the retail price.