lyrics or music first

rockonman
rockonman
03/01/2003 8:42 pm
help, im new to playin the guitar and my friend and mess around with writeing riffs and stuff but we want to write a song. but we don't know where to start. do you write lyrics then music or music then lyrics. also how do you go about writeing music , like what is the theory. any advice would be appreciated.

"Live your life while you have it. A life not lived is a life wasted, and a life wasted is unforgivable."
Tyler Wilkins
Feb 2003
# 1
Tele Master
Full Access
Tele Master
Full Access
03/02/2003 12:23 am
I usually start strumming a chord progression and then sing some words. I write them down, and if I like them I will write riffs, solo, ect.
Electric Guitars are the inspiration for cries of "Turn that damn thing down"-Gibson website
# 2
canuck7
canuck7
03/03/2003 12:39 pm
well, if you have some cool lyrics that flow a certain way. write them down and then try to write some music around it.
and also, if you get a great riff idea or something, then get it down and maybe find some lyrics that work with the music.
whatever you get inspired to write really.
Thanks for listening to this small piece of me.
# 3
toolfreak001
toolfreak001
03/03/2003 2:47 pm
This is one of those things that a person can ponder about for a good long time. Which comes first, the chicken, or the egg?

People tend to say, "Well, what do you look for in a band? Do you listen to the lyrics or do you listen to the music?" I, personally, think that's a retarded question. I definitely listen to and like the lyrics of the band's I listen to, but if the music sucks, I don't listen to it. Music comes first for me, but I'm not oblivious to the message.