floyd hassles--string bending

jq
jq
02/28/2003 11:09 pm
I recently picked up an Ibanez JS-1000 and I'm totally irritated with the floyd bridge. How can I keep other strings from going flat when I bend? I was thinking of blocking the pullback and making the springs super-tight, but that seems extreme. I'm not a tremolo expert, but I know that my old Kahler never had this problem. I don't see why everyone says floyds are the best. Help me understand? Surely there's a solution--I can't believe that everyone who plays a floyd bends only 1 string at a time with all other strings silent.

Related questions:
- The spring claw will hold 5 springs, but the tremolo body only seems to hold 3 (there are only 3 holes under the locking plate). Can I not add additional springs?
- Are heavier gauge springs available, or can I only tighten the anchor screws to increase tension?
- Will changing the tension affect intonation even if the bridge body ends up in the same spot (parallel to the guitar body) after I'm finished?

Thanks. Btw, other than that, I love the guitar.
-JQ
# 1
Lordathestrings
Gear Guru
Lordathestrings
Gear Guru
03/01/2003 4:36 pm
I'm sorry that no-one has seen fit to answer your questions. I'm not a tremolo user. I replaced the trem on my '62 re-issue Jap-strat with a solid brass block. And a piece of machinery like the Floyd Rose trems are very much outside my experience.

As long as the bridge body remains in the same place, I think the intonation will be OK.

For the rest of your questions, I suggest you use the search button at the upper right corner of the page. Enter Floyd Rose as the keword. There have been a lot of threads posted by frustrated Floyd Rose owners, and there's a lot of useful information in here about how to adjust and maintain them.
Lordathestrings
Guitar Tricks Moderator

www.GuitarTricks.com - Home of Online Guitar Lessons
# 2
karmicsin
karmicsin
03/02/2003 11:57 pm